The other shoe…

Earlier this summer when the transplant team decided to try to find a closer match, and I was put on hold, I oddly had the knowledge that I would indeed actually donate. Now that we’re 5 days from surgery, I keep waiting for the other shoe to drop and something to happen to again put this off course. But today, things are seeming pretty darn likely. As Lisa indicated, she had gone to Mayo to get another opinion on her course of treatment. As part of that 2nd opinion, she asked them to run the crossmatch testing with my blood to see if it differs from UC-D. So, Mayo called today and indicated most of the same information except that Lisa only has 1 antibody against me. UC-D had found 2 – so either Lisa’s antibodies have indeed improved or well – we’ll leave it at that. That news pretty much confirms the course of treatment and the countdown… Not more than an hour and 1/2 later UC-D called to give me the orders for the day of surgery. Yep – it’s a go! Lisa and I have to be at the hospital at 5:30 am on Thursday. Surgery starts at 7:30 am. I have to stop taking fish oil and multi-vitamins as of the phone call; I guess they can cause a problem with bleeding. Otherwise, not only do I have to get out of bed at an awfully early hour – I have to shower! What if it’s not a shower day? Just kidding – I shower on Thursdays. Sometimes. Give me a break – I work from home….my dogs don’t care if I shower. They stink! Anyway, other than the trauma of a shower at 4:30 am – nothing can be consumed after 3:30 am – no water, no nothing! I’m sure there are other directives that I’ll find out about on Tuesday – my pre-op day.

It’s really kind of hard to grasp that this time next week, I’ll be down a kidney and not feeling so hot. Actually – we’ll be having a birthday party for my sister Kris. I don’t think she’s ever had her birthday celebration in the hospital other than her actual birth day. What more could someone ask for? So much to do before leaving on Monday….

2 thoughts on “The other shoe…

  1. Thanks for sharing your journey. You and Lisa are in my thoughts and prayers daily.

Leave a Reply

