2 steps forward, 1 step back

This is Sarah typing for Lisa…

I was feeling pretty good yesterday (saturday), got up a couple times, was feeling this was all pretty easy. NOT! Had a bit of a scare last night when we noticed urine in foley bag was bloody looking. It could certainly be nothing, but I immediately thought of all the bad things it could be! I had them draw a bunch of labs, all of which turned out to be normal. Today, back to normal color! (Sarah’s commentary – it was just Brutus celebrating Ohio State’s pummelling of Purdue!). Did not have a good night because of that and back pain. The special beds that prevent skin breakdown, are not at all supportive – so my back is killing me. On top of it all, I felt nauseated this morning so have been taking it easy. Only one lap around the floor. But, starting to feel a little bit better. No word from transplant team today since they had to go to Missouri to collect some organs for transplant. I assume plan for today still includes plasmaphoresus. I am now on my myfortic and prograf, my immunosuppressive medications and start prednisone as well. I’m assuming I’ll feel much better tomorrow and will able to stick to plan to go home. Special thanks to Emily and Samantha who took babysitting shifts to give Vilma a break this weekend. (for anyone in Denver – Lisa thinks she will need babysitters over the next couple weeks – so if you know of anyone, we need to get that organized.)

5 thoughts on “2 steps forward, 1 step back

  1. Andrea and Boyd

    Lisa,

    we can help with the babysitting thing. WHy don’t you give us the name of the person who is coordinating for you and we’ll give them a call?

    Rest and take care of yourself!

    Boyd and Andrea

  2. I would be happy to help. I can do any day except Halloween. 303/905-8092.

    Kenda

  3. GO BRUTUS!!! 🙂

  4. Lisa and Sarah,
    I am a friend of Liz Latts from the Minneapolis VA Medical Center. I worked for over 10 years in transplant research, therefore, have some idea of the challenges that you are facing.

    Wishing you both the best on an awesome journey.
    My thoughts and prayers are with both of you and your families.
    God Bless,
    Deb McKeehen

  5. Dear Sarah, It sure seems like you are going through the worst of it now. Remember always that this too will pass and the creator and author of life is at work healing your body. There is always a reason for the way God works and if we only need one kidney why do we get two if not to give one to another. God bless both of you!!! Love Maren

Leave a Reply

