Ups and Downs

As compared to Lisa, I’m on more of a kiddie ride, but our bodies are fascinating in their ability to remind us to slow down and allow healing to happen. Of course that means one should listen to such messages and I’m not so good at that.

My first day home on Friday, I felt great. Went out for a long walk, my mom and I ran errands and I had a great night’s sleep. Saturday, was a little tired – but it was in the 70’s in Rio Rancho and I just wanted to be out. So, we went to my favorite garden center/nursery (perinnials were 50% off!) and a few more errands and then did a little work in the yard. And for me – it was just a little work in the yard. We then headed out to meet some friends for a drink and dinner. Saturday night – no sleep. Just a miserable night Not particularly painful – but I do feel my incisions any time I go from horizontal to vertical, when I stand, sneeze and cough. So, Sunday I wasn’t feeling splendid – but went to Santa Fe to experience the Canyon Road galleries anyway. By Sunday night, I didn’t feel much better than I had in the hospital the week before. Ok….lesson learned. Maybe…..

When I went in for my post-op appointment, and yet another nurse was surprised I was doing so well – she warned me that there would be ups and downs. I don’t think I rolled my eyes – but you never know! I try to only recognize the ups, but darn it – she was right. I’m trying to deal with the fact that I sleep better when I exercise daily and trying to find that balance – maybe today’s the day.

3 thoughts on “Ups and Downs

  1. Maybe someday you’ll learn. MAYBE. Until then, TRY to take it easy. You know if you need anything, we’re just a call away.

  2. From Laura Bennet’s Project Runway blog:
    “Fans all over the country are swearing that this is it. This time, really, they are no longer going to watch “Project Runway.” I’ve heard this many times before (I read the comments section), but this time, people may really tune out. Never has such an unpopular contestant won the whole shebang.

    I’m sure that Gretchen’s mom loves her. I’m sure she thinks Gretchen is the greatest thing to come along since penicillin — or nicotine gum — but I would be hard-pressed to find more than a few people who agree with that. Not only is the general consensus that Gretchen’s colorless global-hippie look is unappealing, but she doesn’t rate very highly in the personality department either. Her super-high opinion of herself, along with her habit of offering unsolicited advice, didn’t endear her to her fellow designers or the viewing audience. I think the term “Kvetchin’ Gretchen” was used quite freely on the Internet.”

    I thought you might appreciate this! I loved her line “I am sure her mother loves her….” lol

    Hoping today is a good day!

  3. Lisa Welker-Finney

    Sarah – it is a lesson we all keep on learning day to day. Just remember to listen to your body – it knows best! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

