Happy Birthday!

 

 

Daniel knows exactly what to do!

 

Hmm, not sure i like being so dirty!

Man this is good!

Today is the twins’ first birthday.  Happy Birthday Daniel and Sophie!

Thinking about the day one year ago when this all started, it feels somewhat surreal.  I certainly never thought anything like this would happen to me.  For those of you who did not live through the episode last year, I was 33 weeks pregnant the weekend after Thanksgiving.  I had felt really good in my pregnancy until the end when I developed lots of swelling.  On Sunday that weekend, I developed nausea, which turned out to be because I was in acute renal failure.

I went to the doctor that Monday morning and they sent me directly to the hospital; the babies were delivered by emergency c-section at 2:02 pm and 2:03 pm.  At first everything seemed well in post-op, but soon it became clear that I was still bleeding and developed DIC.  The next two weeks for me are a blur, but eventually they diagnosed me with Hemolytic Uremic Syndrome and treated me with plasmapheresis and dialysis.  It was pretty scary for a while but after five weeks the babies and I went home.

Now a year later, here I am with a kidney thanks to Sarah and Brutus and (at least so far) there is a happy ending. My creatinine has been stable around 1.25 and the HUS has not recurred.  I started back at work on Monday and am exercising and feeling really pretty good other than some side effects from the medications.

I had family in town for Thanksgiving, which was wonderful, and Daniel and Sophie got to hang out with their cousins.  On Friday we had a small birthday party for the twins.  We gave them each “smash cakes” – Daniel knew exactly what to do and dug in immediately.  Sophie liked the cake but didn’t really want to get her hands dirty – too squishy!

And best of all, on Sunday, everyone went home and I was in the house alone with the babies.  I am so appreciative of the help that you all have given me – I couldn’t have made it without you, but now 5 weeks after the transplant I have been cleared to lift and take care of the babies on my own!!  You can’t imagine how good it feels to be able to lift my babies.  At one year they are cruising and pulling up, waving at each other, and at us, although Papa (my father) is Sophie’s favorite waving target.  They babble nonstop, are great sleepers, massive droolers, and the sweetest babies ever!

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

  1. Happy Birthday to the Twins! Can’t wait to meet these Cake Faces in person! One day…

  2. The first birthday celebration- what fun and joy! Loved the pictures.

  3. Oh Lida, I am so thrilled to hear how well you are all doing! You all look great! Let us know if there is anything we can do. Enjoy the holidays!

  4. I truly hope it’s a happy ending for much longer. Sophie is my type of gal – I don’t like squishy either. And of course you aren’t biased about them at all….

  5. Happy Birthday! I wish all of you the best!

Leave a Reply

