A day for everything…

So, I’m “one of those people” who is totally amazed by how many days have been designated as something special…. But, before I go off on that tangent – I’d like to talk a bit about tomorrow, February 14th. Yes, it’s Valentine’s Day and still not my favorite holiday. Even the candy leaves a bit to be desired (but I am enjoying my sweet tart hearts!). Actually, not only is tomorrow V-Day – it’s also National Donors Day. Any past year, that has meant nothing to me……. This year – New Meaning!
Lisa gets to celebrate with not one, nor two, but three kidneys. I remain steadfast in knowing donating my favorite left kidney was the right thing to do and feel stellar. But, there are over 110,000 people in need of an organ of some type (kidney, heart, liver, lung, marrow, etc). So, as you celebrate Valentine’s Day and are fervently hoping and praying that next year I might celebrate it too with someone special – I’m hoping you’ll also consider organ donation. The fabulous thing is that you don’t have to donate while alive, admittedly that’s not for everyone (but I do have some mighty fine scars)! You can also choose to donate life (i.e. your organs) at the time of death. Sorry, this has turned morbid and I’m not hoping that anyone goes out and becomes a cadaver – but when our time comes – there are options that can help others and National Donor Day is meant to draw attention to those options. For more information from a much more reliable source go to: http://www.organdonor.gov/how.asp. This Valentine’s Day – you can give more than love, you can give life.
Now then, back to days…..
January 12: Feast of Fabulous Wild Men Day (how DID I miss that?)
February 23: International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day (Brin pointed that one out to me!)
March 8th: Be Nasty Day
April 24th: National Pigs in a Blanket Day
June 21st Cuckoo Warning Day
August 8 is … Sneak Some Zucchini Onto Your Neighbor’s Porch Night
August 12 is … Middle Child’s Day
September 5 is … Be Late For Something Day
September 6 is … Fight Procrastination Day (really…be late one day and the next quit being late?)
October 21 is … Babbling Day
I’ll end with October 21st because it will also be the one year anniversary of my officially becoming a Living Donor Day. Babbling Day is lovely too, and I’m quite sure I babbled like an idiot both prior to and after surgery. If you are interested in more days – Google “national days” – every day is something and thank God they aren’t all Hallmark holidays!
Additional updates – yes, I’ve been on dates. No, nobody special – yet. I won’t blog about dating, I’ll offend someone, and if I don’t have anything nice to say – I should say nothing at all. But- dating sucks. All New Mexico critters (including this one) are celebrating warm, spring-like weather. I’m actually composing this fine piece while sitting on my back patio and watching Brin and Gabby beat the tar out of each other. I decided that was better than chasing Brin around and trying to get garden tools back. The cats enjoy sleeping in the sun all day – and just moving to find it. I’m traveling every week this month and on my next trips get to see some of my favorite people in Atlanta and DC. Super psyched!
Happy National Donors Day! Okay…and Happy Valentine’s Day…. Really – check out: http://www.organdonor.gov/how.asp.

One thought on “A day for everything…

  1. Happy Valentines Day Sarah and Happy National Donors Day! It is indeed a special day and you are a special person. From now on Valentines Day will have a very special meaning for the Latts Family. Enjoy your day and all the days to come.
    Liz and Sandy

Leave a Reply

