43…

That’s how old Brutus and I are today. I imagine Brutus had a stellar day, it caught a ride to Italy with a new owner. The last time overseas, it (he? She?) was forced to do a full marathon in Greece. I don’t think Lisa has anything so strenuous planned. So – sure – guess that’s a better life. Me and my un-named right kidney – we walked the dogs twice, spent an hour with our personal trainer, mowed the lawn, went to Lowe’s… Seems like the right kidney got kind of a raw deal. But the highlights – my mom and I went out to breakfast and I’m pretty sure I ate all my weight watchers points by 11 am. Had dinner this evening with mom, Kris and a bunch of friends. If you ever come visit Albuquerque, make sure we go to St. Clair Winery and Bistro – great dinner. Scrumptious desert. Great conversation. Fairly good wine (for NM!). And gobs of great wishes from family and friends on Facebook. Oh, and definitely a highlight when my little friend Belita Martinez sang happy birthday to me into my voicemail. At 4 ½ this kid is great! As I write this, I’m enjoying a little nightcap of Fulton’s Harvest Pumpkin Pie Liquor… not a bad day at all!

I will now readily admit that I had some fairly significant anxiety around my 6-month post donation check-up. Since October, I’ve had little to zero interaction with the health care system, and no interaction surrounding the actual kidney donation. However, as a living kidney donor I’m expected to have lab work and a brief physical exam to assess my current health status. The national transplant requirements are that these occur at 6 months, 1 year and 18 months post-donation. While I could have chosen to see my primary care provider in Rio Rancho (New Mexico), since I had plans to be in Denver last week – I saw the nurse practitioner (Vonnie Bagwell) whom had been my donor coordinator during the early process. I am pleased to report that there was no need for worry! My blood pressure is 120/80 – which is in the normal range for a 1-kidney human. The majority of my lab work was right on track. My creatinine remains elevated, but it’s holding steading since donating and not a concern to the transplant team. As a reminder, the things we are watching closely are my blood pressure and creatinine levels. Blood pressure, because hypertension impacts overall renal health. And creatinine because it’s a measure of kidney function.

Animal life on Buckskin Loop has settled down a bit. The most expensive free dog in the world (Gabby) was at the vet again yesterday. While she’s fully recovered from the pit bull encounter, she now has an ulcer on her cornea. Kirby goes to the vet tomorrow for his annual check-up – can’t wait to see that bill! Oh, and for those of you who don’t know – we added a new feline. I was just too worried about Kirby to be alone when I travel. So, Miss Outlaw “Josey” Wales joined us a couple weeks ago. She’s a kitten. Which for the inexperienced – means awful. She’s beyond high energy and starts at 5 am. Sort of like having a Tasmanian Devil in your bed – or so I imagine. When she’s sleeping, she’s super sweet. Kirby is slowly warming up to her (he doesn’t beat the crap out of her every time she walks by anymore), the dogs fear her. Kind of funny since she’s a twerp!

3 thoughts on “43…

  1. Happy Birthday Sarah! Glad to hear your six-month went well. Dinner at Lala’s was great – so sorry I haven’t written to thank you. Gearing up for a couple week vacation is taking every free minute I have!

  2. Happy Birthday!

  3. Hi there, I know this is a year old, but I live in ABQ and have been desperately trying to find Fulton’s Harvest Pumpkin Pie Liqueur. Where did you get it?!

Leave a Reply

