Happy Birthday Daniel and Sophie!! and A DAMN GOOD KIDNEY

 

Daniel and Sophie in Minnesota in November

So i was feeling pretty bad about this blogging thing – or I should say my lack thereof.  I would like to do it more, but by the end of the day after working full time-ish and taking care of two toddlers, it is all I can do to grab a little exercise, some dinner, and crash in front of the TV. 

But – I did wanted to make a HUGE call out to my little ones who are TWO today.  Which means that two years ago today at about this time I was in the hospital and getting ready to crash and burn.  A little freaky to contemplate actually.  When I think of it I do get a little choked up – not because I was sick and yada yada yada, but because of all the love and support that I recieved and how many people went out of their way to help me.  It is something I will treasure for the rest of my life. 

The kids are doing great.  They are growing by leaps and bounds.  They take music and swimming and we are going to start tumbling soon.  They are a little late in talking which leads to some frustration.  Sophie has some words and has entire conversations with herself; we just can’t understand what she is saying.  Daniel doesn’t talk but he loves music and dancing.  We have taken a few plane trips and are taking a big vacation in December to Cancun.  Four hours alone on a plane with them.  Gulp.  We are going to need Valium and not for them. 

As hard as it is to believe, Brutus has now lived with me for over a year.  I had my one-year check up visit last month and the doctor could not have been more pleased.  Based on my creatinine (1.28) and the fact that I either had one teeny weenie episode of rejection that responded within 24 hours to steroids or it wasn’t an episode of rejection at all, he placed me in the top 20% of transplant recipients (have I mentioned I am a bit competitive?) That means there is a reasonable likelihood that this kidney will last me at least 15 years.  That doesn’t seem very long at present but I will keep my fingers crossed and hope for the best.  Rejection is always a concern and I asked the doctor how likely it was that rejection could be triggered if I missed a dose of meds.  He suggested that I had probably already missed doses – actually, no.  I may have missed one early on, but thanks to my trusty iPhone I can count on one had the times where I was more than 30 minutes late with a dose of meds.  He thought that was probably one reason why I was doing so well.

Other than that, life is pretty much, well, life.  I hope everyone had a wonderful thanksgiving and wishing you a wonderful holiday season.

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Daniel and Sophie!! and A DAMN GOOD KIDNEY

  1. Lisa,

    What a beautiful message on this very important day in all of your lives. We are so happy to read that all is going so well. We wish you a HEALTHY 2012 and good luck on your 4 hour plane ride with 2 toddlers.

    Thanks for including us in your message.

    Our best wishes to you always,

    XO,

    Mitzi and Terry

  2. Happy birthday and congrats on Brutus, too!

  3. Lisa,
    All the best to you and the kiddos – love the pix. So glad to hear that all is well!
    MP

  4. What a blessing! Thanks for sharing your good news. Beth

  5. Norman Chandler

    How are you doing now? I haven’t heard from you for a while. How are the kids?

Leave a Reply

